

DORSET COUNCIL - APPEALS COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF MEETING HELD ON MONDAY 7 SEPTEMBER 2020

Present: Cllrs Bill Pipe (Chairman), Kelvin Clayton, Paul Kimber, Emma Parker and John Worth

Officers present (for all or part of the meeting):

Vicky Diaz (Transport Team Manager), Simon Horlock (Transport Development Support Officer), Sian Robinson (School Admissions Co-Ordinator) and Liz Eaton (Democratic Services Officer)

1. Apologies

No apologies for absence were received at the meeting.

2. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 9 March 2020 were confirmed and would be signed when the opportunity arose.

3. Matters Arising

Minute 26 – Urgent items

At the last meeting Members asked the Committee to discuss membership of the Committee. It was agreed the meetings would be made quorate and rotated rather than have extra members attending meetings.

Resolved

That future meetings of the Committee to hear transport appeals would be made up of a quorum and rotated rather than have extra members attending meetings.

4. **Declarations of Interest**

No declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests were made at the meeting.

5. **Public Participation**

There were no public questions or statements received at the meeting.

6. Urgent items

There were no urgent items.

7. Exempt Business

Decision

That the press and the public be excluded for the following item(s) in view of the likely disclosure of exempt information within the meaning of Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Schedule 12 A to the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended).

8. School Transport Appeals (Paragraphs 1 and 2)

The Committee considered a number of appeals against the Council's refusal to provide a pupil with transport support.

Resolved

1. That the appeal on behalf of AJ against the Council's refusal to provide transport support between her home and The Dorset Studio School, be allowed until the end of term December 2020.

2. That the appeal on behalf of TW against the Council's refusal to provide transport support between his home and The Purbeck School, be refused.

Duration of meeting: 10.00 - 11.41 am

Chairman

.....